Professor of Electric Power Engineering - Washington State University

Former Special Advisor - DOE for Smart Grid Initiative

IEEE Fellow

Dr. Anjan Bose has more than 40 years of experience in industry and academia, as an engineer, educator and administrator. He is well known as a technical leader in the power grid control industry, a researcher in electric power engineering, an educator in engineering and an administrator in higher education. He is a Regents Professor at Washington State University (WSU), and since March 2012 has been a Senior Advisor to the Under Secretary at the US Department of Energy (DOE) on grid-related activities.

At WSU, Dr. Bose is Regents Professor in the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, holds the endowed Distinguished Professorship in Power Engineering. Dr. Bose is also the Site Director of the NSF-sponsored Power System Engineering Research Center. In 2005, he served as a Senior Advisor to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) in Washington DC, on leave from the University. From 1998 to 2005 he served as the Dean of the College of Engineering and Architecture which has 150 faculty, 75 staff members and 2,500 students over four campuses. During that period, the college doubled its annual research expenditures and donations, while the state and tuition budgets decreased. From 1993 to 1998, Dr. Bose was Director of the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science – the largest unit in the college.

Before joining WSU, Dr. Bose was on the faculty of Arizona State University, where he directed the Electric Power Research Laboratory. This is a cooperative research program, supported by the local power industry, which he helped establish in 1982. In addition, his own research group became internationally known for applying computation technology to the control and analysis of large power grids. In 1988-89, he managed the Program on Engineering Systems (Power) at the National Science Foundation, while on leave from the university.

Dr. Bose is a Member of the US National Academy of Engineering (2003) and the Indian National Academy of Engineering (2006); and has served on several NAE/NRC Committees. He is a Fellow of the IEEE and is active in several international professional societies. He has received several awards from the IEEE including the Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award (1994), the Third Millenium Medal (2000) and the Herman Halperin Electric Transmission & Distribution Award (2006).

He has been recognized as a distinguished alumnus of the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur (2005) and the College of Engineering at Iowa State University (1993).